New book of “Stories from the South Branch” available starting December

For all those who have enjoyed Dr. David Shanahan’s articles on local history that have appeared regularly in the NG Times, the good news...

The Block house: a Rideau Canal icon

The Block house beside the Rideau Canal locks is one of the most iconic of Merrickville’s sights. Built 185 years ago, in 1832, it...

North Grenville at Confederation

When Kemptville separated from Oxford-on-Rideau Township in 1857, its population was not officially large enough to qualify it as a village. That required a...

Ferguson Forest Centre Saved

The recent news that the Ferguson Forest Centre was threatened with closure reminded everyone how important an asset it is to this community. But...

Additions to history noted

by Doug MacDonaldThe Archives of the North Grenville Historical Society (NGHS) have created a “Daniel and Charles Pelton Collection” from donations of original and/or...

Throwback Thursdays: Prescott Street, c. 1912

This photograph was taken from the roof of the Maley Building, which stood on the site of the present Rotary Park in Kemptville. The...

Emergency War Classes for women at Kemptville School

In 1941, women in the area were encouraged to apply for special Emergency War Classes being offered by the Kemptville Board of Education. But,...

Anderson & Langstaff Store, Prescott Street, Kemptville

This has been the site of a store since at least 1850, when Thomas Baldwin had a cabinet shop here. lt  then became the...

The red and white bricks of Merrickville-Wolford

by the Merrickville and District Historical SocietyAs you drive towards Easton’s Corners on highway 16, just between Allan’s Tool Shed and Wolford Public School,...
The NG Times Newspaper

John Fannin: an extraordinary life

North Grenville has produced many amazing characters, but there can be few who measured up to the life of John Fannin. Born in Kemptville...

Stay Connected

2,086FansLike
244FollowersFollow

Recurring Events

Popular Posts