Election Information

Nominations close on July 27, and Internet and telephone voting opens on October 15. Paper balloting takes place on October 22.

Confirm you’re on the list to vote in the 2018 municipal and school board elections this fall.
Call 1-866-296-6722 to learn more or check online through www.Voterlookup.ca.

The election will also be to elect Trustees for the following school boards:

  • Upper Canada District School Board (English Language Public School Board Trustee) – 1 Trustee for Ward Number 6, which is comprised of the the Municipality of North Grenville, the Township of Edwardsburgh-Cardinal and the Town of Prescott
  • Catholic District School Board of Eastern Ontario (English Language Catholic School Board Trustee) – 1 Trustee  for Zone 3, which is comprised of Grenville County and the Township of Elizabethtown-Kitley
  • Conseil des écoles publiques de l’Est de l’Ontario (French Language Public School Trustee) – 1 Trustee for Geographic Region 2, which is comprised of all municipalities in the Counties of Leeds and Grenville, Frontenac, Hastings, Prince Edward, and Lennox and Addington
  • Conseil des écoles catholiques du Centre-Est (French Language Catholic School Board) – 1 Trustee for Electoral Zone 2 which is comprised of Lanark, Leeds and Grenville Counties

Voting Information

North Grenville

The municipal election takes place on October 22 next, and will be conducted using internet and telephone voting as well as paper ballots. Eligible electors will be mailed a Voter Information Letter during the month of October that will provide voters with a PIN (Personal Identification Number) which will allow voters to vote 24 hours a day for 8 consecutive days (October 15-22) from any telephone or device connected to the internet.

On Voting Day, October 22, electors who choose to, will be able to vote by paper ballot at the Municipal Centre between 10:00 a.m. and 8:00 p.m.


The voting period, being the advance vote and including voting day, will be for a term of 8 (eight) full days commencing Monday, October 15, 2018 at 10:00 a.m. (EST) and will terminate on Monday, October 22, 2018 at 8:00 p.m. (EST). Check the municipal web site – www.merrickville-wolford.ca/election-2018 – for information on Telephone and Internet voting options. Paper Ballots will be available on Monday, October 22, 2018, 10:00 a.m. and 8 p.m only.

Related Posts


North Grenville

Mayor and 4 Councillors for the North Grenville Municipal Council for a term of office running from December 1, 2018 through November 15, 2022 (4 years)


David Gordon – Mayor
Nancy Peckford – Mayor
Jim Bertram – Mayor
Elwood Armour – Mayor
Frank Onasanya – Councillor
Deron Johnston – Councillor
Kristin Strackerjan – Councillor
Doreen O’Sullivan – Councillor
Barb Tobin  – Councillor
John Barclay –  Councillor
Craig McCormick – Councillor
Jim McManaman – Councillor

School Board Candidates

Brent Laton – English Catholic School Board
Jean LeClair – English Catholic School Board
Carol Charlebois – English Catholic School Board
Lisa Swan – English Public School Board
Andrew Shanks – English Public School Board
Rachel Laforest – French Public School Board
Edwil Fleury – French Catholic School Board
Anouk Tremblay – French Catholic School Board


The Council of the Village of Merrickville-Wolford will now consist of 5 members:

1 Mayor – elected by all voters
2 Councillors from Merrickville Ward
2 Councillors from Wolford Ward


Anne Barr – Mayor
Doug Struthers – Mayor
Chuck MacInnis- Mayor
David Nash – Mayor
Yves Grandmaitre – Councillor Wolford Ward
Don Halpenny – Councillor Wolford Ward
Tony Iannazzo – Councillor Merrickville Ward
Victor Suthren – Councillor Merrickville Ward
Timothy Molloy – Councillor Merrickville Ward
Bob Foster – Councillor Merrickville Ward
Michael Cameron – Councillor Wolford Ward
Mark Scullino – Councillor Wolford Ward