Wharf Replacement work is to begin on these Rideau Canal National Historic Site locations. In December 2017, Parks Canada will begin work on the replacement of the Black Rapids and Lower Nicholsons Wharves. These projects are expected to be completed in spring 2018.
Sites like Black Rapids and Lower Nicholsons are popular locations for Canadians and other visitors to stop and enjoy the natural and built beauty. Parks Canada is undertaking these repairs to ensure that future generations have the opportunity to explore and experience these charming historic sites.
These projects are part of Parks Canada’s unprecedented $3 billion dollar investment to support infrastructure work to heritage, visitor, waterway and highway assets located within national historic sites, national parks, and national marine conservation areas across Canada. These investments represent the largest federal infrastructure plan in the 105-year history of Parks Canada.
In the mid-1820s Colonel By made plans to construct a dam, lock and embankment at Nicholson’s Rapids. The plan had the dam bypass the rapids with a canal cut along the east bank. Work was completed by contractor H.C. Steven and Co. who worked diligently on the canal cut and lock construction. Local stone from Clowes’ Quarry was used to build the locks and dam. In 1838, an 8m x 8m stone lockmaster’s house was completed. Sometime between 1914 and 1930 a framed second storey was added to the house. In 1912 the upper wing wall, piers and sill of Lower Nicholson lock were reconstructed.
For up-to-date news on infrastructure work along the Rideau Canal, please visit our website: www.pc.gc.ca/rcInfrastructure. If you would like to be added to our community engagement list and receive updates on this project, please e-mail [email protected] and include “Black Rapids and Lower Nicholsons Wharves” in the subject heading.